Join the adventure!



Beavers are usually aged between 6 and 8 years old, though they can be as young as five and three quarters.

Earlier entry is at the Beaver Scout Leader’s discretion (for example, to allow someone a little bit younger to join at the same time as their friends). Spaces for new Beavers may be available and the best way to enquire is via the contact page.


A group of Beaver Scouts is called a Colony and each Colony can be split up into smaller groups called Lodges. We have four lodges each a different colour – Blue, Red, Yellow, Green – represented by the colour of the woggle.

Beavers have a Promise and Motto, but there is not a Beaver Scout Law. The concepts of the Scout Law are presented to Beavers through games, storytelling and other informal devices.

Beaver Scout badges and awards

There is a range of badges and awards available to young people in the Beaver Scout Section.

Activity badges

Many of the badges available are activity badges, which allow Beaver Scouts to show their progress in existing pursuits, but also to try all kinds of new things and form new interests.

Challenge badges

Gaining a challenge badge involves accomplishing a number of more ambitious tasks within the Colony or community. There are several challenge badges across a number of themes, from the physical and outdoorsy to challenges dealing with the local community or issues connected with the Scouting world.

Core badges

In addition, there are a number of core badges, obtained upon joining or moving on from the Colony, or for time spent in the Scouting movement.

Activity packs

Some activity badges are sponsored by outside companies, and these companies often provide exciting resource packs to help Beaver Scouts towards gaining their badges.

More information about scout badge can be found in the links in our helpful links section.

1460 Total 1 Today

Scout Sections:

© Copyright 2022, 82nd Newcastle Scouts, All Rights Reserved.